The Los Angeles Country Club is proud to host the 2017 Walker Cup Match
North Course - September 8-10, 2017

What is the Walker Cup Match?

  • Contested by male amateur players, one team from the United States of America and one team from England, Ireland, and Wales (GB&I)

  • The teams consist of not more than 10 players and a captain.

  • The Match is conducted every two years, alternately in the U.S. and Great Britain/Ireland.

  • The USA team is selected by the United States Golf Association and the GB&I team by the Royal and Ancient Club of St. Andrews.

  • This is the 46th Match and will be the 3rd time the Walker Cup will ever be hosted on the West Coast - Seattle Golf Club, 1961; Cypress Point Club, 1981

Recent Sites

2015 – Royal Lytham & St. Annes Golf Club, England; 2013 – National Golf Links, Southampton, N.Y.; 2011 – Royal Aberdeen Golf Club, Scotland; 2009 – Merion Golf Club, Ardmore, Pa.; 2007 – Royal County Down, Ireland; 2005 – Chicago Golf Club, Wheaton, Ill.

Past Competitors

Bob Jones, Jack Nicklaus, Phil Mickelson, Tiger Woods, Corey Pavin, Jordan Spieth, Luke Donald, Rory McIlroy, Graeme McDowell, Justin Rose, Colin Montgomerie, Davis Love III, Rickie Fowler, Webb Simpson


A victory in each match scores one point. In the event a match goes 18 holes without a winner, a half-point is awarded to each team. The team that scores the most points wins the Match. In the event of a tie, the team that won the previous competition retains the trophy.

Walker Cup Match History

The competition began in the wake of World War I, and came together following a series of meetings between the United States Golf Association and The Royal and Ancient Golf Club, the purpose of which was largely to look at modifying the Rules of Golf. As part of the meetings an international team competition was discussed, with the aim of strengthening of understanding and friendship between The R&A and the USGA.  Among those attending the meetings at The R&A was George Herbert Walker, USGA president in 1920. The idea of an amateur team competition appealed to Walker and he soon presented a plan and offered to donate a trophy. When the press dubbed the trophy the Walker Cup, the name stuck.

The first Walker Cup Match was held in 1922 at the National Golf Links of America in Southampton, N.Y. Led by playing captain William C. Fownes Jr., the USA won the inaugural Match, 8-4. The USA leads the series 35-9-1.

Team Captains

USA:  John “Spider” Miller, of Bloomington, Ind., will serve as the captain for the USA 2017 Walker Cup Team. Miller, who won the U.S. Mid-Amateur in 1996 and 1998, played on the 1999 USA Walker Cup Team. He teamed with Hunter Haas to win a pair of foursomes matches before losing to Paul Casey, 3 and 2, in singles at Nairn Golf Club in Scotland. GB&I won the Match, 15-9. Miller led Indiana to a tie for third in the 1997 USGA Men’s State Team Championship and was inducted into the Indiana Golf Association Hall of Fame in 2000. He is a graduate of Indiana University. 

GB&I: Craig Watson has been appointed as Captain of the GB&I 2017 Walker Cup Team.  The 49-year-old Watson won The Amateur Championship at Royal St George’s in 1997 and he played in the Open that year at Royal Troon and the Masters Tournament in 1998.  He has won eight Scottish Golf Order of Merit titles.  Watson was a member of the GB&I team that played in the 1997 Walker Cup Match at Quaker Ridge in New York where he secured 1 ½ points from the three matches he played.  “Playing in the Walker Cup was one of my proudest moments in golf,” said Watson.  He was named GB&I team captain on February 3, 2016.

For more information on the Walker Cup, visit www.WalkerCup.org